Project 333: Toddler-Style

The blog world, especially blogs about minimalism, have been abuzz recently about Project 333: Experiments in living with less. This project is especially for those who are trying to reduce their possessions.  Clothing is such a source of clutter in everyone’s home.

I have never considered this as a huge problem for myself, however.  My husband used to make fun of me, because I have been known to only own enough clothing for a week. That included everything: underwear, socks, shirts. Everything. If I didn’t do laundry one week, I was wearing dirty clothes. Period.  And I had one nice outfit, usually a dress.

It astonished me how much clothing my husband owned when I first started doing his laundry. Did he really need all of these items? (Before any of you start, I do not declutter his possessions. He’s on his own. Less fights that way.) But just adding his laundry to mine created nearly 2 additional loads of laundry per week! And then when we added children…. *sigh*

So, while my own clothing and accessories easily fall within the guidelines of the Project 333 (33 items for 3 months, then switch it out), I’m thinking this might be a great way to declutter my children’s clothing and accessories. They are at the age that they change sizes about every 3 months anyway. Especially Sweetie, the youngest. And we happen to be at a “switch-point”, so to speak, right now, so this is the perfect time.

But what exactly do you put into the “rotation” exactly for such young children? These are children that can sometimes go through 2 outfits a day (and that’s being conservative. Luckily, we use cloth diapers with both and the amount of wardrobe changes due to diaper malfunctions is small). Plus, how do those diapers and bibs and burp cloths, etc. all fit into the equation?

So, I’m looking at the guidelines set out in the Project, to see how to maybe tweak this for a 2 1/2 year old and an 11 month old.  The Basics include: “33 items including clothing, accessories, jewelry, outerwear and shoes.”  Ok, well jewelry is out, because they don’t wear any.

What does not count: “wedding ring or another sentimental piece of jewelry that you never take off, underwear, sleep wear, in-home lounge wear,  and workout clothing (you can only wear your workout clothing to workout)”.  Hmmm… how could that translate? Again, no jewelry.

  • Underwear=Diapers.
  • Sleepwear=Sleepwear
  • Lounge wear/Workout clothing=? Maybe I will include bibs & burp cloths as that “category”.

And now I want to consider the seasons we will be in these 3 months: mid-February until mid-May.  I live in the Midwest, so while we may have warm days into May, nothing in the high temperatures. So, mostly warm clothing, with a few lighter pieces then.

Click here for Part Two

Leave a comment

Filed under Child

Leave a Reply

