The Delete Button

I have to confess that it has been about 4 weeks since I have *actively* read my personal email.  I use Gmail and have it set up with the Priority  Inbox, so everything from my mom, other family, and closest friends was read right away – and all the JUNK just left.  Made me think about it this morning as I sat and saw 6,000+ (yes that is a 6 in that number!) UNREAD emails. Dear God, why do I even have that many?

Blogs

There are many blogs I like to read: minimalist blogs, homemaking blogs, money-saving blogs. Kinda ironic, isn’t it? I had been subscribing to these in Google Reader, but found that the time to read them wasn’t there. So, I changed to subscribing by email, because I see my email more and would be more inclined to read them. Wrong!  Now I have a cluttered inbox, whereas before I had a cluttered reader.  I still like to read these and get updated, so I’m torn on how to proceed. Unsubscribe from everything? Hmm..

Coupons

I do save an average of 50% on my monthly grocery bill using coupons and so subscribe to quite a few coupon & money-saving blogs. Or from companies with printable coupons embedded in the email. Do I really need these? I have my favorites that I check regularly because they don’t have subscriptions. Maybe I should just stick to those.

Emails to Myself

Does anyone else do this? Maybe I’m just strange. LOL! If I see a website, a recipe, an idea that I want to save for later – I email it to myself.  Often, it just sits in my email, because I don’t have the time to look at it again. So a lot of the pending emails are from ME.

There is absolutely no reason to have 6,000+ emails, unread or read, period. None. Why do we do this to ourselves?

Recently, I went through my work email and only have urgent things in my viewed inbox, with archived emails in their respective subject folders. This has helped clear my mind tremendously.

Do I really need to keep the emails with wedding plans from 5 years ago? Or the pictures of my then-new nephew when he was born in 2004? Seriously. These are emails I have in my inbox right now. Why am I keeping these?

I really want to just CTRL+A and select all and then Delete, but there is this FEAR. Fear that I will delete something that I didn’t really mean to delete.

I did it. I just did it. I Selected All and hit Delete. Wow – what a feeling.  I know that if I need something, I can do a search for it and Google will look in the Trash, too.  But my inbox is now empty.

Self, there is a new rule in town: if it’s not important to read and act on right away, it’s not important enough to keep.  And if it’s not important enough to keep, why am I receiving it anyway??

The Next Step: Unsubscribe from all of the noise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

