Lose to Win: Healthy for the Holidays

Today is the first day of the weight loss challenge I have started with my (old and new) friends Kristen, Rachel and Sara.  As we’ve been bonding this week over struggles from the past, fears, anxieties and even laughed together, I’ve been thinking that this just may be it. Seriously.

I know this is not a weight loss blog. But for me, my weight is the biggest hindrance, the biggest CLUTTER, in my life. And as I’ve been tackling the ridiculous knick-knacks, overflowing toys, and why-did-I-buy-that clothes, I’ve been ignoring the clutter that everyone else sees when they look at me every day.

Clutter Item #1- The Weight

This weight just drags me down. I am physically exhausted after a day of SITTING at my desk. I can’t play with my children. I can’t enjoy time with my husband. It is strangling me in a lifestyle that I hate.

Clutter Item #2- The Evil Me

I talked about this in my previous post. The Me that tells me all the things that are wrong with me, etc. To get rid of #1, I need to concentrate on #2.

Clutter Item Infinity – the Rest of the Junk I Will No Longer Need

I’m actually most excited about this one. Once I have conquered #1 and #2, then I can finally get rid of: the too-big clothes, the self-help books, the junk in the pantry. And I can dust off the bike I love to ride, the workout clothes, the playset in the backyard, the workout DVDs that I couldn’t part with, and actually start LIVING.

So, today is the beginning.

I weighed in this morning at 227.8.  I will not share the other ladies’ weights. That is their choice to do on their respective blogs. I will share their percentages and how they are doing each week. All of our triumphs, struggles, and encouragement as we work on this challenge.

I would like to lose between 20-30 pounds in the next 12 weeks. But more than anything, I would really like to be able to wear my wedding ring and engagement ring again. Currently, I wear my wedding band on my pinky finger, because that is the only finger on which it fits. And the engagement ring fits on nothing. It has been nearly 5 years since the engagement ring fit (and I’ve only been married for 6 years!) and almost that long for the band. But I’ve refused to get them resized. I would rather “resize” myself!

If When I reach my goal, I would like buy myself an ipod Shuffle. I’ve been wanting one to have music to workout, too, but the money is always needed elsewhere.  Anyone know of any good workout tunes?  Here is my inspiration for this challenge: “This is not your legacy, this is not your destiny. Yesterday does not define you. ”

How am I doing this?

I’ve decided that I do need some kind of structure. I’ve been following the Weight Watchers plan on my own for the last month or so (only down about 9 lbs), so I’m going to stick with that.  And I’m following my SEVERAL workout DVDs from Beachbody, starting with Slim in 6, by getting up an hour earlier than usual. Feels good to have a plan.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Lose to Win: Healthy for the Holidays

  1. Love the plan and LOVE that song Melissa! I know you can do this. We all can!

Leave a Reply

